"Gluten Free Diet Foods"

There is no cure for Celiac disease or Gluten intolerance. The only way to keep from being sick is to follow a Gluten free diet for the rest of your life.

Grains to Avoid "Grains That Contain Gluten"

Grains are the main source of gluten in the diet. The list of grains to avoid includes; bran, bulgur, orzo, rye, couscous, barley, farina, kamut, triticale, matzo meal, seitan, semolina, spelt, udon, wheat, and wheat products such as wheat germ, wheat bran and hydrolyzed wheat protein.

The majority of breads, rolls, crackers, cereals, pretzels, and other commercially prepared baked goods contain gluten. Other wheat flours containing gluten include; bromated, enriched, graham, phosphated, and all white flours.

You will also want to avoid chips, soup, bouillon cubes, soy sauce, malted drinks, imitation crab, communion wafers, seasoned tortilla chips, rice mixes, sauces, gravy, vegetables in sauce, some ice creams, and puddings.

There are no requirements for manufacturers to label products as containing gluten at this time. When buying your groceries you will need to check labels carefully for sources of gluten. The ingredients, you may find listed on labels indicating that they contain gluten include; stabilizer, starch, emulsifier, flavoring, vegetable protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, malt, malt flavoring, vegetable gum, and modified food starch according to the Jackson/Seigelbaum Gastroenterology group.

If you go out to eat, you should ask the waiter how the menu items are prepared. Many restaurants will use wheat flour as a thickening agent in sauces and gravies.  The Gluten Intolerance Group (gluten.net), has lists of restaurants that offer gluten free menu items by location.

What you can eat

When on a gluten-free diet you can still have baked goods and breads. They must be made with gluten free flours such as corn, potato, soy, tapioca, arrowroot, millet, buckwheat, rice, carob, beans, nuts, teff, and quinoa.

Vegetables

"Fresh Fruits and Vegetables"

Fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten free

Fresh, frozen and canned vegetables are all safe to eat. The exception would be. if they are seasoned, or in a sauce. Don’t forget to include fresh, seasonal fruits in your diet. If you are also cutting out lactose, be sure to eat extra amounts of kale, broccoli, and spinach for the extra vitamin D and calcium contained in them.

Meats

Chicken, pork, seafood, and eggs are good choices on a gluten free diet. You should avoid processed meats such as sausages that may use wheat as a binder, and grain-fed beef. Free range, grass fed beef is OK. Be sure to avoid meats that are pre-seasoned, marinated, or have broth added as there may be gluten contained in these added ingredients. If you are an omnivore, you will be happy to hear, bacon is gluten free as well as ham on the bone.

Vegetarian

Tofu is also gluten free, but be careful not to use seasoned or baked varieties.

Starches

Potatoes of all types are gluten free including sweet potatoes.

Rice is especially good on a gluten free diet. It is easily digestible and can help to ease a touchy digestive system. It is the first food given to babies, because it is so easily digested. Don’t forget to try other varieties of rices such as brown rice, arborrio which is used to make risotto, basmati which is common to Indian dishes, or jasmine which is more common to Oriental cuisine.

Quinoa which is classified as a “faux grain” is also gluten free. It can be used in much the same way as couscous. It cooks faster than rice, but is boiled the same way. Depending on what veggies, herbs, or spices you add, it can provide a lot of interest in your diet. I’ve tried Mediterranean, Southwestern, and Middle Eastern flavors and found it adapted well to all those flavor profiles. It is also very high in protein which is an added plus.

Polenta which is made from cornmeal is also gluten free. You can make your own or buy it premixed in tubes to use as a base for spaghetti sauce or in other Italian dishes. When buying it premixed be sure to check the label to be sure it is gluten free.

Pastas can be gluten free too. I’ve have seen corn, buckwheat, and rice pasta in the stores here. I have been drooling "Gluten Free Rice Pasta"over a recipe for a sweet potato gnocchi, I’ll let you know how that turns out. I have to say I’ve been very happy with the rice pastas. You can buy them in a lot of different shapes. I’ve used them for Lo Mein dishes, pasta salads, and Vietnamese dishes. I found they really satisfied my craving for pasta.

 

Dairy

Dairy products are gluten free. However, 50% of those with Celiac disease are lactose intolerant.

If dairy is not a problem, you still need to avoid dairy products that include gluten in their manufacturing. Dairy products that might contain gluten include commercially made chocolate milk, creamers, processed cheeses, and malted drinks. You should also avoid flavored yogurts. Be sure to check the labels on low fat dairy products as they may use starches or fillers that contain gluten.

If lactose is a problem for you there are some cheeses that may still be consumed. Aged block cheeses have no lactose."Gluten Free Cheese" Parmesan, aged cheddar, fresh goat cheese, and blue cheese are all safe to eat, as they do not contain the sugar molecule lactose. You should check the label to be sure there are no additives, flavorings, or fillers used in the manufacture of these cheeses.

There are gluten free vegan cheeses too. They are typically made from almonds, rice, cashews, or soy. If the label says vegan, but does not specify gluten free, be sure to read the ingredients.

You can replace milk with rice, almond, coconut, or soy milk. I really like the almond and coconut milks. I have been using the almond milk on my cereals most mornings. I’ve also had good success in making creamy sauces and baked goods with the almond and coconut milks.

Butter can be replaced with nut butters or oils. Peanut, almond, and soy are the most commonly used. They should be labeled gluten free, or made at home.

 

Fats and Oils

Many oils are naturally gluten free. These include; soy, safflower, olive, sunflower, canola and corn oils. Margarine, shortening, mayonnaise, and lard are also gluten free. Butter and cream are gluten free but do contain lactose.

Beverages"Gluten Free Beverages"

You should be able to safely drink coffee, tea, and carbonated drinks. Beer is made from the bad grains and should be avoided although there are some gluten free beers available. Distilled alcohol like whiskey, rum, gin, tequila, and potato vodka are gluten free. Wine is also considered safe on a gluten free diet.

Condiments

Distilled white vinegar, apple cider and malt vinegar do not have gluten. Most mustard should be safe. Ketchup, you should check the label. I have found Mrs Renfroe’s salsa here that is gluten free. Soy sauce should be checked, many varieties contain wheat.  Worcestershire sauce contains gluten. Most commercially prepared salad dressing contain gluten too.

 

When starting a new diet it is always best to consult a physician. He may want to prescribe vitamin or mineral supplements. Most of the wheat consumed in America, is fortified with vitamins. When you are on a gluten free diet you could be low in iron, calcium, and the B vitamins that wheat is fortified with. If your symptoms are severe, he may put you on a medication, like the steroid Prednisone, to help reduce inflammation. Your doctor will also be able to refer you to a nutritionist or dietician, that can assist you in planning your gluten free diet.

Welcome to my blog!

"Sue Woodard, Cookbook Author" This blog is about my journey in becoming gluten-free. I'll be talking about how I deal with being gluten free (it can be achallenge!), what you can eat on a gluten free diet, what foods you should avoid, and share my delicious recipes for gluten-free foods.

Check out my cookbook!

Recent Comments